top of page
Search

FULL MOON RISING

Updated: Jan 29, 2023

Why do full moons happen again?

Full moons happen once a month when the sun's rays fully illuminate the surface of the moon. The moon has no light of its own, and when the moon is shining at its brightest and fullest, we're receiving maximum light and vitality as the sun's rays bounce off of the lunar surface.

While the energy of a full moon lasts for about three days before and after the lunation, the moon is technically only full for a moment—when the sun and the moon are directly opposite each other in the sky. Below is the reasons the moon affect us, some rituals to do during the full moons, and the schedule of 2023 full moons and their meanings.


How does the full moon affect us?

For centuries, connecting to these energies can give us a sense of grounding and synergy with the earth and cosmos. While the new moon is a time to set intentions for the future and launch new projects, the full moon is a time of culmination. Starting with the "dark" phase of the new moon, the lunar surface gathers light over a two-week period, then manifests as a full moon. When the moon is completely full, it's a spiritual and energetic pinnacle of whatever you started when the sun and the moon united at the new moon.


What to do during the full moon:

1.Meditate

Full moon meditations are a powerful way to tap the luminous lunar energy and harness the energetic power of the moon's light.

  1. Sit comfortably in a space where the moonlight is visible.

  2. Close your eyes and feel the moon's beams fill the room and your body.

  3. Focus on your breath and the intention you've set.

  4. Imagine the moonlight enveloping and purifying your body, mind, and spirit.

  5. Slowly bring your attention back to the room and open your eyes.

  6. Repeat as many times as you'd like in the three to five hours before or after the full moon.


2.Hold a moon circle

Moon circles can help you harness the energy of the full moon and celebrate with a group of friends and like-minded seekers. At a full moon circle, you'll want to set intentions, listen actively to each other's things you want to create, and decide what to collectively release. You can get as creative as you want with these–candles, incense, chanting, dancing, even a playlist tailored to the full moon's astrological sign. Most importantly laugh, have fun, and support each other! :)


3. Do a manifestation ritual

My friends and I call this "To The Universe!" . A simple manifestation ritual can solidify your full moon intentions and help you bring things to fruition. There are many ways to do this! One way: You could start by creating a little altar or sacred space in your home where you can perform this ritual. Gather some inspirational objects (photos, notes, books, crystals, or anything that contains the energy of what you want to manifest). Next, meditate and relax your mind for a few moments as you get clear on what you're calling in. Let go of any judgment and close your eyes as you visualize yourself attracting exactly what you want. You can use the objects as points of focus.

4.Take a moon bath

The full moon's light can rejuvenate our psyches. Connect with lunar energy by submerging yourself in water. Draw a healing bath around the time of the full moon, and gather your favorite salts, crystals, and candles. You can say your full moon intentions aloud while you're relaxing in the tub as you imagine the full moon restoring every cell of your body. Or, take a dip in a lake, ocean, or pool (if weather and circumstances permit) or bottle up your own moon water.


The full moon will carry a different energy depending on when in the year that it falls. Here's an introduction to what each month's moon signifies:

January 6, 2023 (Full Wolf Moon): Hang out with your own wolf pack and let out a collective howl!

The January 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, will be on Friday January 6, 2023 at 6:08 PM EST or 11:08 PM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the December 2022 full moon occurred prior to the Winter Solstice. The January Full Moon will be the full moon in Cancer.

February 5, 2023 (Full Snow Moon) The snowiest moon. Don't hate—hibernate!

The February 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Sunday February 5, 2023 at 1:29 PM EST or 6:29 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the second full moon after the 2022 Winter Solstice. The February Full Moon will be the full moon in Leo.

March 7, 2023 (Full Worm Moon) Decide what you want to leave behind as you prepare for spring.

The March 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, will be on Tuesday March 7, 2023 at 7:40 AM EST or 12:40 PM UTC. This will be the third and last full moon of the Winter 2023 season as it occurs before the spring equinox 2023. The March Full Moon will be the full moon in Virgo.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) will be on March 20, 2023 at 5:25 PM EDT or 9:25 PM UTC, a couple of weeks after March Full Moon.

April 6, 2023 (Full Pink Moon) Named for the first pink flowers of spring, use this moon to charge your crystals outside while connecting with nature.

The April 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, will be on Thursday April 6, 2023 at 12:34 AM EDT or 4:34 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Spring 2023 season and the first full moon after the spring equinox 2023. The April Full Moon will be the full moon in Libra.


May 5, 2023 (Full Flower Moon) Everything's in bloom! Incorporate flowers and flower essences into your moon rituals.

The May 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, will be on Friday May 5, 2023 at 1:34 PM EDT or 5:34 PM UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Spring 2023 season and the second full moon after the spring equinox. The May Full Moon will be the full moon in Scorpio.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 9 minutes before the full moon peak.

June 3, 2023 (Full Strawberry Moon) The first moon of summer and a lovely time to use warm tones, fruits, and sweetness in your rituals.

The June 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, will be on June 3, 2023 at 11:42 PM EDT or June 4, 2023 at 3:42 AM UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Spring 2023 season as it occurs about two weeks before the Summer Solstice. The June Full Moon will be the full moon in Sagittarius.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for June 21, 2023 at 10:58 AM EDT or 2:58 PM UTC.

July 3, 2023 (Full Buck Moon) Harness the energy of growth and strength. Think deer antlers. :)

The July 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, will be on Monday July 3, 2023 at 7:39 AM EDT or 11:39 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2023 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice. The July Full Moon will be the full moon in Capricorn.

August 1, 2023 (Full Sturgeon Moon) On this moon, reflect on times in your life when you've surprised yourself with your strength.

The August 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, will be on Tuesday August 1, 2023 at 2:31 PM EDT or 6:31 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2023 season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice. It will be one of two supermoons in 2023. The first August Full Moon will be the full moon in Aquarius.

August 30, 2023 (Full Blue Moon) Celebrate agricultural fertility and feminine energy on this moon, also known as the Harvest Moon.

There will be a full blue moon in August 2023 on Wednesday August 30, 2023 at 9:35 PM EDT or August 31, 2023 at 1:35 AM UTC. This will be the third and last full moon of the Summer 2023 season. It will be the second of two supermoons in 2023. The second August Full Moon will be the full moon in Pisces.

This moon is called a full blue moon because it’s the second full moon in a calendar month. It could also be referred to as a super blue moon because it the second August Full Moon will also be a supermoon.

September 29, 2023 (Full Harvest Moon) Reflect on the summer months and set autumnal intentions.

The September 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, will be on Friday September 29, 2023 at 5:57 AM EDT or 9:57 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Autumn 2023 season. The September Full Moon will be the full moon in Aries.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 10 minutes before the full moon peak.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 23, 2023 at 2:50 AM EDT or 6:50 AM UTC. As the September full moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it will be called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 28, 2023 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon will be on Saturday October 28, 2023 at 4:24 PM EDT or 8:24 PM UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2023 season as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The October Full Moon will be the full moon in Taurus.

November 27, 2023 (Full Beaver Moon) Get in touch with your senses and ground in nature.

The November 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, will be on Monday November 27, 2023 at 4:16 AM EST or 9:16 AM UTC. It will be the third full moon of the Autumn 2023 season. The November Full Moon will be the full moon in Gemini.

December 26, 2023 (Full Cold Moon) Reflect on the summer months and set autumnal intentions.

The December 2023 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, will be on Tuesday December 26, 2023 at 7:33 PM EST or December 27, 2023 at 12:33 AM UTC. It will be the first full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season as the first full moon after the Winter Solstice. The December Full Moon will be the full moon in Cancer.


Astrology sign-by-sign full moon meanings:

A full moon always falls in one specific astrological sign. Every sign carries different energies and themes, and we can use this information to connect us with the cosmos. Here are some keywords associated with each sign to help you get started on your lunar journeying:


  • Aries: Aries is all about fierce individuality. Celebrate what you love about yourself, and release any negative vibes around your self-image!

  • Taurus: Taurus is the most sensual of the earth signs and is ruled by Venus, planet of love. Take time to appreciate nature and engage your senses. Think walking outside barefoot and inhaling the spring air.

  • Gemini: Gemini, a mutable air sign, is curious and flirty. Chat with your friends and activate your throat chakra.

  • Cancer: Cancer is the moon's home and represents the waters of the womb. Take a bubble bath, honor the women in your life, and most importantly: Nurture yourself.

  • Leo: Leo loves to see and be seen. Connect with your inner lion(ness) and bust out the bling; wear clothes that make you feel regal and glamorous; and dance, dance, dance.

  • Virgo: Virgo likes to make order out of chaos. This is a stellar time to organize your physical and energetic space. Decide what's working for you and what's got to go.

  • Libra: Libra is represented by the scales of justice. How are you creating beauty, harmony, and balance in your life? What's holding you back from these Libran ideals?

  • Scorpio: The Scorpio energy is subterranean: the deepest, darkest, most magical waters. Activate your inner witch on this full moon.

  • Sagittarius: Sag is the eternal adventurer, and the full moon here wants you to broaden your horizons. Embrace the unknown and try something new.

  • Capricorn: Capricorn is ruled by Saturn, planet of discipline and structures. How can you create abundance and growth through embracing structure. Ditch whatever structures aren't working for you.

  • Aquarius: Aquarius is an air sign represented by the water bearer (confusing, we know). This water is meant to wash away the past and make room for newness. Say goodbye to what needs to get washed away, and make space for new opportunity.

  • Pisces: As the final sign of the zodiac, Pisces represents mystical oceanic waters. If you live near the ocean or a large body of water, take a dip or listen to waves via audio recording.

If you'd like to get a more in depth chart go to: AstroChart for a FREE birth chart to find your moon!




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page